There will be blood

DSCN0019

Dongi Yang def. Rob Kimmons

 

me & kessinger flexin at the fights!!

So I got to go to my first UFC fight and it was a lot of fun. UFC on Versus 3 was hosted in Louisville, Ky. (just an hour and a half away from us) so I ventured to the fights with my boyfriend and Brandon Kessinger, the fellow I commonly refer to as the Gentle Giant, because he’s awesome. The bouts were great.  Luckily my bf scored some pretty good seats but what we both found funny was that we were at constant battle to watch what was right in front of us or the awesome angles they were hitting from the big screen up above.  It’s weird to finally get to experience what we dvr every saturday.  The atmosphere was much different than local ammy mma shows, by far.  The fighters were all pros, all elite athletes, they took their job seriously.  They were respectful (for the most part).  It wasn’t just some joe schmoe, they were all guys that eat, sleep, and breathe mma.

kessinger after taking 10 pics trying to get it right lol

There were some familiar faces about.  Pat Berry is probably one of the nicest and approachable athletes I’ve seen.  At one point he walked up our aisle and 40 minutes later he still hadn’t made it up the row. He signed every autograph, took every picture, and hugged every child with a smile.  You can’t help but root for that guy.  Oh George St. Pierre was there as well and I fought the urge to throw my drawers across the convention center.  I’m only kidding of course. But had he been on the same side of the cage as us I cannot say that I would have been able to resist the urge so easily.  My boyfriend understood as he had the ring girls to goggle at.  Much respect to guys that can be monsters in the ring but role models outside of it. Anywho. We missed the first two matches, including Palharres kneebarish-hell hook (yes i’m very sad I missed that) but all the other fights were very enjoyable to watch live, except fo cyrilles–that match was B.O.R.I.N.G.

  • Palharres wins by kneebar

    Diego Sanchez  def. Martin Kampmann via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

  • Mark Munoz def. C.B. Dollaway via TKO (strikes)
  • Chris Weidman def. Alessio Sakara via unanimous decision (30-27. 30-27, 30-27)
  • Brian Bowles def. Damacio Page via submission (guillotine)
  • Danny Castillo def. Joe Stevenson via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Cyrille Diabate def. Steve Cantwell via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-25, 30-26)
  • Shane Roller def. Thiago Tavares via KO (strikes)
  • Takeya Mizugaki def. Reuben Duran via split decision (30-27, 27-30, 29-28)
  • Rousimar Palhares def. Dave Branch via submission (kneebar)
  • Igor Pokrajac def. Todd Brown via TKO (strikes)
  • Dongi Yang def. Rob Kimmons via TKO (strikes)

Thiago Tavares...up

fave matches

Alessio Sakara- blood everywhere, weird choice for walkout music, but I was still rooting for the italian fighter. I must say I  wouldn’t mind walking out with the gladiator themed costume he wore either. I could use it to constantly remind myself just how badass i can be (kidding, but not really).

Brian Bowles- quick, clean, and precise. I loved the guillotine. His opponent, page, was very aggressive at first but he timed it right and had a good finish.

Thiago Tavares- He was the crowd favorite but he got caught by a very pretty, and yes I said pretty, right hand.

Kampmann v. Sanchez.- I was rooting for Kampmann. His strikes seemed cleaner. Time after time he stuffed Sanchez’s takedown attempts with ease, but I’m not letting the Sloth-like appearance of Sanchez fool me, I

Thiago Tavares...down.

too believe that it was a fair judgement that he won the bout.  My teammates think i’m crazy but oh well.

venue- the venue was great, expensive as hell but a great place to host events.

staff- the staff was very rude

crowd- nothing like a little southern hospitality.  I almost forgot how much I hate watching MMA bouts with individuals that a.) don’t train

b.) train very little

People will just shout any and everything.  At one point one audience member shouted, “Get him G.I. Joe style!!!” <–hot mess.  Even when the bouts when to the ground and a fighter was in side control transitioning people insisted that they be stood up. Once again, hot ass mess.  Another thing that irritated the hell out of me was the xenophobia that was spreading like wildfire.  Everytime an asian fighter would be winning they would cheer like bieber fans,” USA, USA, USA”.  God louisville you never cease to disappoint me.  I still admire many of the fighters because a few of them didn’t respond negatively to the heckling. They would state that they were present to entertain and they apologized if they disappointed.  Congrats to all the fighters that one. Shoutout to my coach Josh Johnson.  He was contacted by the UFC to check hands/tape and had many appearances on the big screen.  For many of us we were excited to see him in a suit. I still think a kimono fits him best :).

BJJ Black Belt under Luiz Palhares, Josh Johnson owner of Bowling Green Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Elizabethtown Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

Comments
One Response to “There will be blood”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

