Testing New Waters..Exploring my newfound love for Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu


Over the years I found myself more and more intrigued with things like kickboxing, brazilian jiu-jitsu (BJJ), and mixed martial arts .  Thanks to numerous hours indulging in MMA fights my interst in trying martial arts peaked even more.  Just a few months ago I met a judo instructor that recommended a place in Bowling Green, KY. for me to check out to test out whether or not I’d actually enjoy the training.  After three intensive weeks of training I’ve found myself falling in love with BJJ.

I swear after nearly two hours of training i’m completely drenched in mine and the guys sweat, i look unrecognizable, my body aches in ways I forgot were possible, and thanks to the 96 degree KY heat I’m usually halfway delirious but man oh man just managing to properly execute a technique, or being able to keep up with everyone else is so fulfilling and rewarding.

With me being a woman I was unsure if I would be comfortable “rolling” with the guys but so far it’s been great and everyone for the most part has been really helpful.  Since I’ve started I’ve  become very acquainted with one woman who is verrrry experienced so working with her gives me hope and keeps me motivated to get the techniques down pact.  I’m currently doing both the Gi and No-Gi classes, and the No-Gi has become my favorite…maybe once the temperature manages to rest below 90 degrees I may enjoy the Gi class more lol.  Nevertheless i’m really working to get the hang of both while remembering all the techniques…good lord almighty it’s way more difficult and complex than I had ever imagined but i haven’t enjoyed myself like this in a very long time.

Some of my friends will joke around and others discourage me from training because they don’t understand or see a purpose in it but I ignore them, they simply don’t understand.  I think that after several months of training I might even consider trying to compete.  I know that’s a lot to chew off right now so for now i’m going to focus on learning my submissions and what not.  I swear after nearly two hours of training i’m completely drenched in mine and the guys sweat, i look unrecognizable, my body aches in ways I forgot were possible, and thanks to the 96 degree KY heat I’m usually halfway delirious but man oh man just managing to properly execute a technique, or being able to keep up with everyone else is so fulfilling and rewarding.

It’s hurts so bad but I really think I’m starting to become addicted to the practice lol.

Comments
2 Responses to “Testing New Waters..Exploring my newfound love for Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu”
  1. slideyfoot says:

    As someone new to BJJ, you may or may not find my BJJ Beginner FAQ useful. There’s a bit specifically on women there too, here.

  2. shakiaharris says:

    thanks! i’ll check it out

Leave a Reply

