My First MMA Fight- Hardrock MMA 24- Scottsville, KY


Oh what an eventful day.  Yesterday I went with the guys to the Allen County Fair to see my first MMA fight (Hardrock MMA 24) and show some support for Tyler Young (BG Beatdown) one of the guys I train with.  The fights were held at the Allen Co. Fair in Scottsville, KY and the crowd was ‘colorful’ to say the least.  I didn’t hesitate in deciding to come but the guys would wait until we’re halfway there to inform me of the chaotic events that took place last year, and explained just how ‘hospitable’ the people were. Oh Great. We get there and it looks just like your everyday county fair except for the fact that there were rebel flags EVERYWHERE.  As a Black/African-American/Negro I can’t help but to be nervous when I see a huge confederate flag waving from the back of a pickup truck, especially in the state of Kentucky. That’s when I started to wonder just how memorable the experience would be but nevertheless I’m game for just about anything.

“…There were rebel flags EVERYWHERE. As a Black/African-American/Negro I can’t help but to be nervous when I see a huge confederate flag waving from the back of a pickup truck, especially in the state of Kentucky…That’s when I started to wonder just how memorable the experience would be…”

Tyler Young (BG Beat Down, 4-0)

The fights were quick, like really quick.  There were 8 fights I believe, a few disqualifications, but Tyler’s fight was last as he was the main event.  It was really cool to be able to see some familiar faces and meet some new ones.  The people in our inner circle were pretty nice, the ‘youknowwhos’ didn’t speak to me as usual.  The crowds were hilarious; the drunken mothers/cousin/sisters were the loudest and yelled any and everything. They were mocked accordingly. “Bite his nose!!” haha good times.

When it came time for Tyler to fight one of the main concerns was whether or not his opponent would show.  No one had seen the guy for quite sometime and when his fight music came on he was nowhere to be seen.  Awkward. He showed up eventually but that was definitely not a good look for him. The fight started and the other guy came a lot harder than I thought…not that I know a whole lot about MMA fights but anyone who damn near misses their fight…at a state fair…for whatever reason I can’t help but not take them too serious.  The fight went for two rounds and ended with Tyler catching Sawyer in a triangle choke.  It was by far the most dynamic fight of the night.  Tyler had a pretty nasty black eye afterwards but it happens.  I had a good time hanging out with everyone, a couple of the guys asked when I was going to get in the cage and I didn’t really have an answer.  I’ve been doing the BJJ, Judo, Kickboxing/MMA classes pretty consistently so the more I train the more it appeals to me. But we’ll see what happens.  I’m just happy that my brown legs made it out of Scottsville last night :).  Congrats again Tyler!!

***for those that do not possess a sense of humor i was referencing to the 2010 Census with my “As a black/ african-american/negro” comment.

Leave a Reply

