“Getting the guys on the ‘mat’: Combining Yoga & Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu”


I feel like in order to truly to be great at something you have to explore and incorporate various methods of training into your routine, and with that being said I’ve taken it upon myself to introduce some of the guys to the wonderful, relaxing world of Yoga.  I’m not talking about that death trap called “Hot Yoga” or the exploited yoga on steroids, commonly known as ‘P90x Yoga’.  Don’t get me wrong both of these will make you sweat but I would never encourage someone who’s new to the practice to engage in either at first.

I do yoga twice a day everyday, once before bjj/judo/kickboxing class and then again before i go to bed because it significantly reduces strain and relives my tense muscles.  I’ve also noticed that the next day i’m not in as much pain.  Sunday I went to the school and worked out with a few of the guys and after striking and rolling I hosted an impromptu mixed yoga class for them. Lucky for me (and them) I have a yoga playlist on my ipod so i just replaced their ‘pumped up music’ with something more calming and showed the guys a thing or too.  Both guys perform extremely well in class and are so quick with their transitions and submissions I was somewhat surprised at their level of flexibility.  They were both really good sports, even as they were performing the Cat and Cow poses they laughed and kept those hips tilted lol.  It was nice to do yoga with the guys, I’m glad they were open to trying something new, it was kinda weird being the one to critique and give directions, but I think we all had a pretty good time.

Key poses:

Tree Pose

Side Triangle pose

Bow Pose

King of the Dancer pose

Comments
2 Responses to ““Getting the guys on the ‘mat’: Combining Yoga & Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu””
  1. slideyfoot says:

    Have you checked out the Yoga For Fighters DVD? One of the black belts who heads up Balance, Phil Migliarese, is also an experienced yoga guy, so put together an instructional combining the two.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] This post was Twitted by MMAnewsfeed […]



Leave a Reply

