You don’t always get what you want


“We tend to forget that happiness doesn’t come as a result of getting something we don’t have, but rather of recognizing and appreciating what we do have.”- Frederick Keonig

Today’s been a better day.  Coudn’t make it to no-gi last night on account that I had to work.  My shift took an unfortunate turn a few hours in and every few minutes I found myself daydreaming about practice instead of anything related to what my job pays me for. Tonight’s Muay Thai, but i’m opting out.  My desire to improve my striking comes and it goes, plus I find whenever i try to do no gi, gi, and striking, everything just gets tricky after that. Maybe in a few months I’ll restructure my plans but for now, I’m going to keep it simple.

Today I did a little reflecting and read some of my old posts partly to copy  some  notes in my jiujitsu notebook and I was surpirsed at how my perspective on a lot of things has changed since I started training.  Granted training can be seen as a hobby but it’s something that has taken over a large portion of my life in some aspects. I have many major goals in life like graduate form college, find a stable career, and train my heart out.  I’m grateful to Papa Smurf for introducing me to something that’s made such a profound effect on my life now.  I won’t be getting crazy sentimental or anything but it is funny to read my first post by in may or june and think about the way I view training, my relationships, and my life in general since then.

I’ve been trying to copy all my notes in my jiujitsu notebook.  If there’s one thing I’m good at it’s documenting things, and i’ve been reading over it pretty frequently and I can’t begin to count how many times I’ll stumble across another takedown I’ve forgotten over the months, or another take on a submission I’ve slacked on drilling.

I’m thoroughly looking forward to the next few days of class. I think a few guys are coming in for gi tomorrow, i’m going to train at Nice Guys friday, and sunday as usual i plan on going to Etown to train.  I’m hopeful about the way things are going.  It’s time to relax and let everything take it’s course.

I also noticed I’ved reached nearly 4k views on my blog in the past few months, which is kinda cool to me so here’s a compilation of my most viewed posts to celebrate the occasion.

Most Visited/Popular Posts:

-Being Left For Dead Doesn’t Mean that You have to die-

-Empowering a battered woman through the art of Jiu Jitsu

-There will be no crying on the mat

-Are we Swimming or Rolling?

‘IRINA SAMOKHINA SPEAKS OF GOVERNMENT HARASSMENT AGAINST THE MEDIA IN RUSSIA’ BY SHAKIA HARRIS

Comments
2 Responses to “You don’t always get what you want”
  1. Laura says:

    Hey, I’ve been reading for a while but haven’t commented.

    I think you are incredibly brave in what you post on the web for all to see. Also, the post about your occasional panic reaction to a big guy, well, that helped me realize I wasn’t going crazy.

    Thanks.

  2. shakiaharris says:

    well thanks i greatly appreciate it, and thanks again for your comment, it further assures me that i’m not a loon

Leave a Reply

