How do YOU teach jiu jitsu??


Women’s class is coming along fairly well in terms of improvement in teaching, students progressing, Had to teach class entirely bymyself and I think I stressed about it entirely too much.

This past friday was Shannon’s son birthday so I taught the Women’s Class by myself and we had a blast.  Usually Shannon leads the class and there may be a technique or two that i’ll offer to add on depending on the position but for the first time I had to REALLY  plan this out and it was nerve wrecking.  First was deciding where to start, do I want to show the awesome mount series Josh showed that I love, or build on guard, or attack the back?  AAAHHHHH!!!!

I wanted to make sure whatever it was accomadated everyone and above all make sure I had a clear understanding of what I was showing.  For the Dec. 30,2011 class I decided to venture towards takedowns.

I started warm-ups with shrimp crawls, bear crawls, shoulder rolls, and shooting drills.  We emphasized sprawling, staying heavy, using ones forearms during the sprawl.  Awkward at first but at least we could all joke about it.  I referenced the first times I had tried sprawling and how the extra junk in my trunk made it enormously uncomfortable to do in front of others, but sprawling is a neccessity in jiu jitsu.

Anywho, 1st. Sprawls 2nd. Shooting Drills 3rd. Technique.

Technique: We reviewed the takedown where you pummel for double unders, maintain a gable grip around the waist, outstretch your leg behind them and then use your weight to bring them down and finish the takedown.

2nd. We covered the single leg takedown, emphasized using head to place pressure on opponents sternum/chest, then “running the pipe”.  Added to the sequence by having the partner move their leg from between the legs to the outside as a means of defense.  Once the leg was moved to the outside we had the girls switch to a double leg.

first takedown

I was nervous about showing the takedowns because our normally low intensity class was getting more “aggressive” for lack of better words but everyone really seemed to enjoy them and the fact that their cardio was truly being tested. For the past month or so we had really been working a lot from the guard and I’m glad that the girls were receptive to working on techniques from standing.

Chose to hold pursuing live takedowns and instead used the last of class time to answer a few questions, and give the girls additional time to drill guard techniques.  Overall had a really fun time.  Extremely nerve wrecking for myself as I wanted to present the best class possible lol Now I’m going to pay special attention towards how Josh and some of the upper belts explain technique and show the progression of series/chaining.

One thing’s for certain my neck hurts like hell from the single legs, but it was worth it.

**Question: How do you approach teaching, showing techniques?  Any rule of thumb that you follow?

Comments
One Response to “How do YOU teach jiu jitsu??”
  1. slideyfoot says:

    I’ve only been teaching since May, so don’t have much experience to go on, but these are five of the things I’ve learned to keep in mind:

    1. Don’t teach more than one or two techniques, unless the third is very closely related and you still have loads of time left.

    2. Make sure you have at least 20 minutes left for sparring, preferably 30 mins.

    3. Always include specific sparring from the position most relevant to the techniques you taught. You may also want to make it even more specific to help make sure people get a chance to really test it against resistance. E.g., when I teach maintaining back control, I try to always have a couple of rounds where you start in back mount, but with no submissions. That way, the person escaping gets lots of time to work on that, while the person on their back can really hone in on maintaining.

    4. Having a theme for extended periods. I go over one position for three weeks, covering escaping, maintaining and attacking. Some schools I’ve been to spend a month, others a week. I MUCH prefer that to teachers that teach something completely unconnected from lesson to lesson.

    5. Always leave a few minutes for stretching after class. Always.

Leave a Reply

