Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu


Every tournament I change something.  The most significant change I’ve made to my daily routine is bike riding.  I made this change for several reason.  Running placed way too much stress on my knees and I have BAD feet. Flat, wide, and large.  Pair that with jiu jitsu injuries and they’re just a hot mess.  I also think running is the most boring thing in the road so i thought I’d give biking a shot.  I went and bought just an entry-level bike from Wal-Mart (I’m balling on a budget) and so far I’m ecstatic with the results.  I bike anywhere from 3x-5x a week and it’s the most calming exercise.  I love it because I can ride for an hour and it doesn’t feel like I’m doing anything rigorous. At first it worried me but then after several weeks I noticed a change while I rolled.

Has anyone else had much success with the biking cross training?  So far I’m hooked.  One week I had a little knee issue so I stopped running to let it heal and soley rode the bike as my additional cardio exercise and my knee felt much better (thanks fish oil as well).

Carlson Gracie Indianapolis has a great article on interval training and cardio exercises HERE

Training Log

I feel like I’ve had just the largest brain fart.  I can do all sorts of elaborate spider guard sweeps and chokes but when it comes to shrimping and bridging effectively I still need a  refresher from time to time.   I got two years under my belt and although my passing and top game has improved extensively (compared to being non-existent a year ago lol) my escapes have suffered.  This in turn is part my fault because I should be drilling escapes as much if not more than submissions.  I remember when i started my position and submission escape skills were miles away from where they are now.  Granted I understand the mechanics of particular positions much better I simply don’t have the repetitions in to glide my way in and out of positions.  That’s just an overall observation I’ve made over the past few weeks.    I plan to thoroughly revisit Saulo Ribiero’s Jiu Jitsu University’s White belt section and refresh myself on the necessities.

Comments
10 Responses to “Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Every tournament I change something. The most significant change I’ve made to my daily routine is bike riding. I made this change for several reason…. […]

  2. […] Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Top Posts & Pages. 24 Dudes Share The Red Flags They Use To Identify “Crazy” Girls; Brazilian Jiu Jitsu & Carpal Tunnel Syndrome; Rickson Gracie says …… […]

  3. […] Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Every tournament I change something. The most significant change I’ve made to my daily routine is bike riding. I made this change for several reason…. […]

  4. […] Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Every tournament I change something. The most significant change I’ve made to my daily …… […]

  5. […] Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Every tournament I change something. The most significant change I’ve made to my daily …… […]

  6. […] Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Every tournament I change something. The most significant change I’ve made to my daily …… […]

  7. […] Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Every tournament I change something. The most significant change I’ve made to my daily …… […]

  8. […] Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Every tournament I change something. The most significant change I’ve made to my daily routine is bike riding. I made this change for several reason…. […]

  9. […] Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Every tournament I change something. The most significant change I’ve made to my daily …… […]

  10. […] Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Bike riding & Jiu Jitsu | I Wonder As I Wander – Aug 10, 2012 · Every tournament I change something. The most significant change I’ve made to my daily …… […]



Leave a Reply

