Training on Antibiotics


So what is the best way to train on antibiotics?  I’ve hit quite a hurdle in my path to becoming a world champion.  I wanted to compete at least twice before the pans in march and since the funding is looking optimal I’ve tried to maintain a more serious training mindset. Except that I haven’t been able to train very much due to taking these miserable antibiotics.  I toyed with the brief idea of maybe skipping a couple of days but the consequences would put me out of training for much much longer.  Essentially if I don’t take the antibiotics then I have to go through a very invasive and PAINFULLY embarrassing procedure and I really don’t want to go through that road. So I can either be miserable and feel like I’m dying while rolling, chest pain, can’t breathe OR I can stop the meds roll like a champion and get a nice big needle involved. UGGGGGGHHH!! It figures.   I had my entire December planned out to the tee and even as I’m typing this blog I’ve had to stop several times to dizziness, and just plain old discomfort.

Tonight I’m going to the gym after work and let’s hope it’s more productive then the last few weeks. I thought antibiotics were supposed to make you feel better.

If anyone has any tips on training while taking antibiotics I’d be more than happy to hear them. Mostly all I’ve gotten are several speeches to not train, which hopefully fellow grapplers can understand that right now I just don’t see how that is an option.  I understand that my body isn’t at a100% but this is really starting to hurt my training self esteem and starting to make me question myself and my abilities, as if I didn’t do enough of that already.

Comments
5 Responses to “Training on Antibiotics”
  1. SavageKitsune says:

    Your body is like your car. It *needs* certain care and maintenance, or it is simply not going to function for you.

    If the tire falls off, you can try driving it on the rim- but it’ll be a slow, bumpy trip, and then the rim is going to get bent and you’re worse off than before.

    Sometimes you just have to block out an afternoon, put the car up on blocks, carefully replace the tire, balance it, tighten each bolt, and FIX IT RIGHT. Then you can go back out on the road and floor that puppy and your car is 100%. Your wheel won’t fall off and leave you stranded in the middle of the turnpike.

    Not what you want to hear, I know, but we have to look at the big picture of what is best for our training. Gotta take good care of the instrument. It’s not being wimpy, it’s being practical.

    • shakiaharris says:

      very true. Last night with the help of my spouse I did something different and felt pretty good afterward. Since it’s SO DAMN COLD OUTSIDE we simulated long slow distance running and replaced it with sport specific movements for 45 minutes (originally 30 but I felt so good I continued for another 15), whilst not allowing my heart rate to exceed 150 bpm and it helped a ton with feeling like I wasn’t over exerting myself. He fights mma as well as competes and is probably among the best in our gym as far as cardio conditioning is concerned. Nevertheless I’m glad I kind of found a middle ground.
      I had a series of drills setup (about 15) that i’d do for 2 minutes each, no rest and whenever my heart rate would exceed 150 bpm I’d slow down or switch to something else.

      I need to take better care of my body and my car, literally. She’s about to fall apart lol

      • SavageKitsune says:

        Good for you. When you’re my age you’ll be happy you didn’t wreck your instrument, because we all still want to be kicking butt on the mats when our peers are sitting on the porch of the old folks’ home.

  2. Georgette says:

    Why can’t you train while on antibiotics? I’m not being snippy… I just have never experienced anything while on antibiotics that would have kept me from training (unless I was just well and truly sick, like with strep or whatever, and then it wasn’t the antibiotics keeping me in bed.) Email me if you don’t want to explain yourself in public 😉 georgettejitsu at gmail 🙂

    G

  3. shakiaharris says:

    I had a large and painful knot that we were trying to dissolve with antibiotics to avoid any needles (YIKES) and everytime I tried to train while on them I felt like my heart would explode. Whether it was trying to get through the warmups and keep up with everyone else or sparring. The same thing happens to me whenever I try to train and take any type of allergy medicine I feel a similar sensation. For me it’s really bad chest pain like I just can’t breathe or my my heart is beating too fast. So I just don’t take anything, except ibuprofen.I’d rather train and suffer through than feel relief at home but like death on the mat. I’m not exactly sure what is in the meds that causes that reaction, I should probably look into that.

Leave a Reply

