Silver at the Abu Dhabi Pro Trials NYC!!!


I’ll make this short and sweet as I’m so late posting it. So I earned 2nd at the Abu Dhabi Pro Trials in New York, NY (2013). I got into the finals with a bow and arrow choke and lost to Erin Harpe by points. It was a very aggressive and fast paced match. We had competed against each other previously at the IBJJF NY Open just months before where I also earned 2nd place and she took gold. I must say it was a fun match and as we’re both avid competitors I’m sure it’s not the last lol.

won my first match

won my first match

I entered the open weight and Erin was my first match, I had a lot of plans but fault myself for worrying too much about what the other person was doing and not committing to my game. C’est la vie. No point on whining about that to all you folks online 😛 . The drive to NYC was so darn LONG. We drove from Bowling Green, KY to NYC and if you mapquest it you’ll probably think we were crazy. It was well over 14 hours smh. One of the guys said he regretted the trip and I thought he had lost his mind to be honest. Personally I felt the trip and experience I gained was worth every damn mile. But I’m different and that’s ok. It was cool getting to do a big tournament with a few friends present. There were four of us that made the trek and we even got to see a few sights. I was bummed during the last trip to NY because it was all work (bjj) and no play. I had really wanted to do touristy things and this time we got to a bit. We visited ground zero, travelled endless railways and buses, and wandered through times square.

It was difficult because one of the teammates is also my boyfriend so the stress of competing along with a long drive and life in general caused us to be snippy. Note to self, no more significant others at tournaments if you can avoid it. I know it sounds bad and 2-3 years ago I wouldn’t even believe I’d say that but it’s simply too distracting. I find myself experiencing emotional/adrenaline dumps watching him compete and vice versa. We both learned that to focus a degree of selfishness is necessary, for us at least.

01

I’m extremely grateful for those that helped me train and contributed gear and dollars to help me get to new York. Thanks to Ron Arnold and to Combat Corner my gear sponsor. I wore their blue v3 gi and it was the first time in nearly 4 years that I competed in several matches and it was not stopped by a ref for my but hanging out or other wardrobe malfunctions. If there’s one thing I hate it’s having my match stopped. Ugggh!!!! It messes up my momentum 🙂 Anyways I’m now preparing for the next big thing, I’m afraid to announce what it is in case something falls through so I’ll give you 3 options and hopefully 2 of the 3 will come true.
IBJJF Chicago Open, IBJJF Pan Championships, and/or IBJJF World Championships!!

 

**Disclaimer: I apologize for any grammatical errors as I wrote this article hastily and after a very long run 🙂 **

Some other pics from our trip….

Jimmy (left) was taking an Epsom bath to cut his last few lbs. and Brandon (right) decided to jump in and take one for the team lol

Jimmy (left) was taking an Epsom bath to cut his last few lbs. and Brandon (right) decided to jump in and take one for the team lol

Guys being silly on the subway

Guys being silly on the subway

my #1 GRIPE regarding UAEJJ's choice of weigh in venue. We waited in the loooongest line ever for hours!! Mind you it was cold as heck in NY! No Bueno! Unacceptable. Had 3 people weighing in at a time and hundreds had registered.

my #1 GRIPE regarding UAEJJ’s choice of weigh in venue. We waited in the loooongest line ever for hours!! Mind you it was cold as heck in NY! No Bueno! Unacceptable. Had 3 people weighing in at a time and hundreds had registered.

me looking Asian in the subway.

me looking Asian in the subway.

Picture of a tribute to the firefighters that lost their lives on 9/11/11

Picture of a tribute to the firefighters that lost their lives on 9/11/11

It was packed at the venue, around the barricades. it was impossible to see anything!!

It was packed at the venue, around the barricades. it was impossible to see anything!!

Comments
2 Responses to “Silver at the Abu Dhabi Pro Trials NYC!!!”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] alternate the V3 and V2 four times a week. They ARE IBJJF legal. I’ve competed at the UAEJJ Abu Dhabi Trials in the blue V3 and not once did my match have to be paused because of malfunctions. Now I’ve competed A LOT […]

  2. […] Silver at the Abu Dhabi Pro Trials NYC!!! | I Wonder As I … – Feb 06, 2014 · I’ll make this short and sweet as I’m so late posting it. So I earned 2nd at the Abu Dhabi Pro Trials in New York, NY (2013). I got into the finals …… […]



Leave a Reply

