Q5 Labs Sample Reviews


This review is different from others that I’ve done in that the product (Q5 Sample pack)  sent doesn’t retail anymore in the way that I received it, however the individual products do exist in different sizes. At one point Q5 labs retailed a sample pack of some of their popular supplements for 10$ to aid a person in deciding if they wanted to invest the additional 30-50$ on the full size item. When I first saw this I thought it was an excellent idea. I can’t tell you how many opened yet nearly full canisters or protein powder and other assortments of supplements are in the pantry because we didn’t like the taste or didn’t notice a difference in implementation.
When I was first contacted august of 2013 I was very excited because I had several tournaments I wanted to prepare for and I only use supplements when I’m cutting weight and/or increasing my training volume. However I did not receive the actual product until the beginning of 2014 which meant a significant delay in this review as I wanted to save what I did receive for worlds/pan ams prep which I apologize for.
1b2    The main reason why I have difficulty with this review is that not only were there no nutritional facts included with what I received but the servings varied container to container and those were not marked either. I’d also like to add that the sample pack I received for sent to me. However had I purchased this independently personally I’d be slightly annoyed as this particular product is marketed as something to aid a person on the go. If I’m rushing because I have to get to class or get to work I don’t have time to jump on the computer every morning to look up what’s in the cannisters. But that is just a little gripe and remember this particular sample pack is no longer available on the site (As of 6/10/14) so it could probably be disregarded. Another disclaimer regarding my views on these products most of the servings with the exception of the protein powder were so small that I cannot attest to how this specific product would make me feel over even a 7 day span in time.

I will admit I was hesitant on whether or not to include this impression but I saw here where another reviewer expressed the same concern. Now I don’t want it to seem like oooh I want free stuff I’m mad I didn’t get more, that’s just not the case. For future reference to Q5 it would probably be best to send one item with a few servings than five items at one serving especially when it’s important as a consumer to know how a particular product made you feel long term.

Alright now down to the nitty gritty.

I received

Q5 Launch Fuel

Q5 Premium New Zealand Whey – Chocolate

Q5 Premium New Zealand Whey – Vanilla

Q5 Warrior Purple

Q5 Warrior Green

1b1My faves:

Whey Chocolate & Vanilla

  • Both I was able to ration over a couple training sessions and they mixed up great into my regular shakes which contain an assortment of things including: spinach or kale, frozen or fresh berries (raspberries, strawberries, blackberries), pineapple/mango, and if necessary ice. Both chocolate and vanilla with these choices resulted in something that tasted like a fruit roll up YUM and I did not get gassy or bloated afterward. I’ve noticed that side effect with other wheys. I don’t know why just a little coincidence. The whey protein powders I would definitely purchase. I also used a scoop of each to mix in with my fiber rich oatmeal for breakfast with honey and that was mighty tasty as well.

Launch Fuel

  • This one I wasn’t so sure about. I’m not really a big fan of pre-workout mixes. I don’t like the fluttering or increased heart rate prior to bjj. However, even though this particular sample was very small I did notice that at the end of a particularly tiring class I felt great. My recovery was pretty good and I had a more insistent need to roll additional rounds at the end of the class. This was followed by the rather annoying side effect of having to promptly use the bathroom. However I wouldn’t mind taking this supplement on a regular basis a couple of times a week.

Meh: Warrior Purple & Warrior Green

  • These products are great if you have issues with acquiring a daily dose of greens and fruits. However I do not fit into that category. No matter how poor I’m always well stocked on spinach, broccoli, other veggies, and lots of fruits. Regardless I still tried to give it a fair shake and personally I would not purchase these two. I did not like the taste and I could not tell any prolonged effect of ingesting these products. On paper I do think that these could be great supplements for someone on the go with less access to ‘good’ foods and missing some key nutrients.
Comments
One Response to “Q5 Labs Sample Reviews”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Q5 Labs Sample Reviews | I Wonder As I Wander – Jun 10, 2014 · This review is different from others that I’ve done in that the product (Q5 Sample pack) sent doesn’t retail anymore in the way that I received it …… […]



Leave a Reply

